Users

This page allows you to view the users that are currently stored on your website. To get to it, go to: People > Users

A user is any person that has created an account in the system, or has had an account created on their behalf. Using User Groups and Permissions a user can be given rights to assigned areas of the admin panel, thus giving them rights to view/access selected areas in the admin and can be used to limit employee access to select areas to perform their duties or disallow access to areas they are not permitted to view.

Users also include customers. From the initial users screen, you can create new users or edit existing users.

First Glance

First Glance

1. To create a new User, click the "Add New User" button.

2. To edit a User, click the edit icon.

 

  • To export the list of users, click the "Export Users" icon

Edit User

When you first edit a User, you are presented with the basic information about their account.

To save, click "Save and Return".

Account Information

Account Information

The User Information Section looks like the above image. Information about each input is outlined below.

  1. First/Last Name - Sets the First and Last name of the user.
  2. Username - The username is the unique name given to a user. This username will be used to log into the store.
  3. Email - Sets the email address for the user.
  4. Backend Id/Backend Department Id - Used for integrations.
  5. Notes - Admin notes for the user
  6. Custom Question Answers - If the user setup form has a custom questions, the answers will be displayed here.

Account Management

Account Management
  1. Company Name/Account Number - Sets the company name and account number of the user.
  2. Tax Exempt - User is not required to pay taxes.
  3. Shipping Exempt - User is not required to pay for shipping.
  4. Salesperson - The person assigned to take orders on behalf of the user.
  5. Pricing Rule - Special pricing for a user. For more details on Price Rules please see the Price Rules section.
  6. Restricted Product lists - Allows the user to choose from Product lists for this account to restrict browsing
  7. Customer Message - Any message you want displayed on the user's account dashboard when they login.

Password Management

Password Management

Password Format

  1. Show Password - This will display the users password on this page.
  2. Login Locked - This option is enabled if the customer has exceeded the number of tries while attempting to enter their password.
  3. Secret Hint/Answer - You can set a hint as well as the answer to the users password here.

Addresses

Addresses
  1. Default Addresses - These two addresses will be the users default Billing and Shipping address.
  2. Address Book - Displays all addresses used by a customer. Click the Add Address button to create a new address for the user.

Groups

Groups

Groups allow you to apply a "group" or "classification" to users.  For example, you may want to create a Group of customers that are "Preferred Customers".

To assign a Group to a user, move from right to left by selecting the Group and clicking the arrows.

Groups can be configured under People > User Groups and Permissions. More help with Groups & Permissions.

Sub Users

Sub Users

Sub-Users are simply users that have been added under a main user. We tend to call the main user the "Account Owner".

These Sub-Users can have "Budgets" that would require approval from the Manager or Account Owner.

The Limits are controlled by the Account Owner user from the storefront.

Sub-users are created in the storefront under the My Account option, there is an option for "Manage Users". For more on Sub-users, Click Here.

Managing Sub-Users in the Admin

The following functionality is only available in the admin and will help you quickly manage sub-user accounts.

Promoting a sub-user to an account owner

If you need to restructure your user hierarchy and convert one of the existing sub users to the account owner, you can do so in the admin.

In the example below, we will be replacing Carlo Ancelotti (current account owner) with Toni Kroos (sub-user).

Promoting a sub-user to an account owner

All you will need to do is edit the sub-user (Toni Kroos) and click on the Make Account Owner option at the bottom of the page. A pop up window will appear asking you to confirm your changes.

The former account manager (Carlo Ancelotti) will be directly underneath the new account owner (Toni Kroos). He (Carlo Ancelotti) will have no permissions/budgets set, so if you require these, you can do so in the storefront.

Adding/Moving a stand-alone account to a hierarchy

If you have a single user that you want to make part of an organization, you can use the Move User option. You will want to first edit the user that you want to move and scroll down to the bottom of the page.

Next you will just start typing the name/username of the person who you want to place this user under (this will be the account owner), select the user and click Move User.

For this illustration, we will be moving user Frank Berk under the Account Owner Carlo Ancelotti.

Adding/Moving a stand-alone account to a hierarchy

Here too, the user that we moved (Frank Berk) will have no permissions/budgets set, so if you require these, you can do so in the storefront.

Removing a Sub-User from an account

To remove a user from an organization, all you would need to do is edit the user in question and click on the Remove User From Account option. this will dissociate that user completely from the hierarchy.

Removing a Sub-User from an account

Product Lists

Users have the ability to categorize items into several product lists. This is an indispensable feature which allows users that have several departments/people/machines that they order for to organize lists into more manageable categories.

To learn more about Product Lists, Click Here.

Product Lists

Deactivating a User

Deactivating a User

To deactivate (disable) a user, simply click the "Deactivate User" tab.

Deleting a User

Deleting a User

Once you have deactivated a user, you will be presented with a button for "Delete User".

NOTE: Deleting a user will remove ALL of their recorded information.

So, if a user has orders or address books or favorites they will all be disconnected from their record.

Supporting Documentation

For a more detailed description of the functionality of the features found in this section of the admin as well as the definitions for the terminology used, please visit the following link(s):