User Groups are sets of users with defined permissions that restrict what a user can view or edit.
Groups are just classifications, but can be used to tie in with other types of permissions.
When used for Admins, they can have "Roles" assigned to them, which would restrict or give access to sections of the admin areas.
On the Edit Group Page you have the following inputs:
- Group Name – Sets the name of the group.
- Permissions – Sets the permissions for the user. Users can be restricted to only view certain pages as well edit certain pages. "Login to Admin" will allow users the ability to log into the admin area. "Login to Web Services" will allow that user account the ability to connect to the store's Web Services. This role may be necessary for user accounts accessing the store through add-ons or plug-ins.
Note: NEVER apply permissions/roles to Groups that you have applied to customers. This would give them access to your ADMIN!
To put a customer or user into a group, simply go to the edit user page and scroll down to the groups menu. Any group that you put into the right hand dialogue box will be a group that customer is in.
For a more detailed description of the functionality of the features found in this section of the admin as well as the definitions for the terminology used, please visit the following link(s):